My Artsy Excursion in Singapore

Hi! I’m back after quite a long pause on my blog!

This time, I’ll talk about Singapore. My trip to Singapore was kinda unplanned.. Well, the truth is most of my trips were unplanned and spontaneous.. and this time was one part of it, you may say…

So, since this was a result of my sudden inner impulse, I had no arrangement of what I am going to do in this Lion city. Just a simple getaway from hectic Jakarta. I was previously in Johor Bahru and Malacca with my parents and relatives. And while they left for Jakarta from Kuala Lumpur, I continued to Singapore for my solo trip.

Let’s just cut to the chase then.

Singapore is no stranger to me. I’ve visited this country quite several times. I’ve been to those famous tourist spots, indulged oneself in the country’s diversity of food, did the must-do in the Garden City.

Therefore, this time I wanted to try something else. Something that I rarely do in my other trips. Arts!

Apparently, if you explore more, Singapore is not just a city for travel and lifestyle. It is also a place for arts. Here in my blog, I am compiling all my art-related visits below:

 A. Baybeats at Esplanade (14-16 July 2017). I had no idea in the beginning if there is any music festival in Singapore at the time I was visiting. I met up with friends and kind of just checking out what’s happening in town that time. There’s Baybeats. Being curious of it, we sort of just decided to check it out. Well, it turns out to be an interesting music festival and we did enjoy a lot that night.

A brief introduction to Baybeats, it is apparently one of the biggest music festival in Singapore covering genres including folk, pop, metal, punk, electro, and everything in between. It celebrates the music-loving lifestyle. It is Singapore’s very own alternative music festival held in Esplanade-Theatres on the Bay.

A few photos I took…
 Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 21.53.24

 

B. Jazz in July. Another unexpected encounter with art during my trip. A jazz performance at Esplanade concourse. I was having early dinner with my friend and her mom at Suntec Mall. Then decided to go for a strolling around Esplanade to see the night view of the city. It was that time when we passed by Esplanade concourse, and we saw people preparing for the performance. Jazz Performance. That night the pianist Mario Serio performed with the singer Beverly Morata. He is a consummate pianist who came from New York and living in Singapore since 1994, he has performed at various venues in the city. While Beverly Morata, I was mesmerized by her voice. She has such powerful vocal styling and stage presence. I wasn’t a big fan of Jazz but I enjoy almost any kind of music. So, why not stop by to listen? Apparently, I enjoyed a lot that I forgot to take photos of the show.. lol. Well, if you happen to visit Singapore, check out what’s happening in the city at https://www.esplanade.com/. You’ll find quite a lot of shows and festivals to fill your day!

Just one photo!

fullsizeoutput_4866

C. Cirque du Soleil. One of the art show that I got the chance to witness during my visit in Singapore is Cirque du Soleil! Yay!  So, while I’m here, with no hesitation I decided to watch it. The show they performed here with the theme “KOOZA” which is inspired by the Sanskrit word “Koza” meaning “box”, “chest”, or “treasure”. And with that name, emerging from the magical box is an international cast of 50 acrobats, musicians, singers, and actors. They combines acrobatic performance and the art of clowning. It’s full of surprises, thrills while you watch the show. Presented in a colorful medley to a live fusion of jazz, funk, and Bollywood beats.

It’s a 2 hours and 30 minutes show including 30 minutes intermission. The show starts at 8pm at Bayfront Avenue next to Marina Bay Sands which stars from July 12th until August 27th. More information on their website https://www.cirquedusoleil.com/ and for the ticket https://www.sistic.com.sg/events/kooza0817. If you happen to be there during these times, watch it! It’s definitely worth it!

Processed with VSCO with ke1 presetProcessed with VSCO with ke1 presetProcessed with VSCO with fp8 presetIMG_8787Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with fp8 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetIMG_8651IMG_8652Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

D. National Gallery Singapore. Going to gallery or museum was not really on my to-do list when traveling. I came here as a result of my friend’s recommendation. Guess what?? It turns out I love this place! There is one special exhibition held in this venue. YAYOI KUSAMA: Life is the Heart of a Rainbow. https://www.nationalgallery.sg/see-do/highlights/yayoi-kusama-life-is-the-heart-of-a-rainbow, Yayoi Kusama is know for her iconic dots, nets, pumpkins, and infinity rooms. She is one of the world’s most influential artist in which her art has captivated and inspired millions all over the world. The exhibition is held from June 9th to September 3rd 2017 featuring over 120 works which begins with paintings from the 1950s, continued with the development of her key motifs, exploration of color, form, and space.

This exhibition covers 4 galleries (A, B, C, H). I really enjoyed my time here and didn’t realize that it takes roughly 2 hours to finish.

Here are some highlights of the exhibition.

IMG_8444

IMG_8364
Infinity Room
IMG_8365
Infinity Room

IMG_8368

IMG_8373
Dots
IMG_8447
Dots
IMG_8450
Pumpkin Dots
IMG_8383
Dots

 

E. ArtScience Museum. 

Another museum suggested by my friend is ArtScience Museum. Well, I’ve never been inside and figured why not? Some facts about this place. It is a museum located within the integrated resort of Marina Bay Sands and is the world’s first ArtScience museum. I love the architecture of it which is said to be a form reminiscent of a lotus flower. It is a round base in the middle which has ten extensions referred to as “fingers”. The museum has 21 gallery spaces with a total area of 6,000 square meters. Enough said, so I explored two main exhibitions taking place in this museum.

FUTURE WORLD: WHERE ART MEETS SCIENCE

You will enter a futuristic world of high-tech interactive artworks here. They combined the world of art, science, magic and it is displayed through a collection of digital installations. Not only some artworks for you to see, you too can get involved in it. They provide some interactive activity such as coloring a variety of sea creatures on paper, scan them and watch them swim into life in the virtual aquarium. A lot to be explored in this exhibition alone. If you really go into it one by one, expect to spend at least 1 hour here.

IMG_8636
ArtScience Museum
IMG_8622
The Lotus Pond
IMG_8624
Crow

IMG_8545IMG_8546

IMG_8558
Crystal Universe
IMG_8654
Universe of Water Particles

http://www.marinabaysands.com/museum/future-world.html#bKv5kIUjtkiACHCc.97

HUMAN+: THE FUTURE OF OUR SPECIES

In this exhibition, you’ll see that what seemed purely science not long ago becoming real. One of the main exhibit here is about human. What does it mean to be human now? Do you realize that cyborgs, superhumans and clones are alive amongst us today? HUMAN+ presents a future world where the lines between fiction and reality are blurred. It also shows how our perception of humanity is being transformed by science and technology.

IMG_8563IMG_8567IMG_8574IMG_8575IMG_8576

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Have we all become cyborg already?

 

http://www.marinabaysands.com/museum/human-plus.html#4seXrKI21rvAmD0W.99

F. Parkview Museum.  The building “Parkview Square” has some unique architecture. It is Singapore’s very own “Gotham City” building. You won’t realize until you go inside to discover that it has a contemporary art museum “Parkview Museum”. It is a private gallery which is now exhibiting the tenacious topic of shark protection titled “On Sharks & Humanity” which will last until September 9th 2017. And, it’s free! I’m definitely sold!

The exhibition covers the ideals, beliefs, and actions of the artists in their commitment on protecting sharks. They have provided their interpretations from installations, paintings, to photography and videography using their own imagination and creativity.

IMG_8813
The Gotham Building
Processed with VSCO with fp8 preset
Interior
Processed with VSCO with fp8 preset
Museum Entrance
Processed with VSCO with ke1 preset
To Poseidon by Xia Hang
Processed with VSCO with ke1 preset
The Art of Shark’s Fin
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Downward Force on Upward Moving Objects by Wang Luyan
Processed with VSCO with fp8 preset
Us by Liu Zining
39235004-E9B6-4597-BA53-025EF903609D
Evolution by Gao Xiaowu

IMG_8809

http://www.parkviewmuseum.com/event.html

Fiuh…. Finally the summary of my artsy trip in Singapore is done… Oh but wait, here below are some photos which I think also should be included… I just realized, somehow it is also can be related with “art”.

IMG_8949
Night view
IMG_8384
Full city view
IMG_8601
Singapore Panoramic View
IMG_8661
Painting Lesson
IMG_8672
Art in Haji Lane

I can say my trip this time was one of the best of all my few visits in this garden city. I love it! It makes me want to come back to explore more.

You now have one more reason to visit one of Singapore, not just for the city, food, lifestyle, but the art itself.  Don’t you agree?

For more of my photos and journey, please check out and follow my Instagram: @travel.is.my.dessert (or simply put in #travelismydessert).

See you on my next trip!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Artsy Excursion in Singapore

Leave a Reply

